Awards and Recognition

October 2016

The My Hero International Film Festival released the Hawk Media Club documentary ‘The President, the Peanut and the Pulpit’ as an official selection and an award recipient. The My Hero Project has over one million viewers and participants each year. The club received four (4) state awards on October 15 at the Florida College System Publications Association annual conference and will receive two (2) National Pinnacle Awards on October 30 from the College Media Advisers Association for Mobile App of the Year and Media Station of the Year. Josh Brown is the President of the Hawks Media Club and student director of the Hawk Media Club Documentaries. Rick Gaspar is the club’s advisor.


September 2016

Dr. Richard Gaspar, Professor of Mass Communication at the Ybor City Campus and Adviser to the Student Publications, will be inducted into the Florida College System Activities Association Hall of Fame in the Publications Division. The ceremony will take place at the Association of Florida Colleges’ Annual Convention

On July 15, the National Society of Collegiate Scholars (NSCS) announced its annual Star Status Awards to high achieving chapters from colleges and universities around the country. HCC’s chapter of NSCS was awarded the highest honor as a Diamond Status chapter for the 2015-2016 academic year. Only one out of over 330 chapters across the nation received this recognition each year. The student leaders of the HCC chapter worked diligently throughout the year to create activities for its membership and to serve the local community based on the organization’s three pillars: scholarship, leadership, and service.


August 2016

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer, was awarded the Individual Trailblazer Award by the Florida Chapter of Public Relations Society of America at the Sunshine District Annual Conference this summer.  Angela also was elected Chair of the Sunshine District by her peers.


June 2016

Angela Edward-Mangione, Brandon Campus English instructor, on receiving the Aaron Swartz Best Webtext 2016 Award by Writing Commons for her article Literary Criticism: An Introduction. Writing Commons is an award-winning, peer-reviewed, open text for students and faculty in college-level courses.

Congratulations to Dr. Dina Canasi, adjunct faculty member with the Dental Hygiene program at the Dale Mabry Campus, on receiving the 2016 Sigma Phi Alpha Journalism Award presented by Johnson and Johnson and the American Dental Hygienists' Association during the 2016 American Dental Hygienists' Association Conference. The award was in recognition for her publication, Influence of Trait Emotional Intelligence on Professional Success of Dental Hygiene Educators, which was part of her doctoral applied research project. Dr. Canasi also recently received her Doctor of Health Sciences from A.T. Still University in Mesa, Arizona.

On April 9, the Plant City Campus chapter of Phi Theta Kappa received two awards at the International Convention in Washington, D.C. The campus chapter was the recipient of the Theme award for the Honors in Action project, and was also awarded the Distinguished Honors in Action program award. Diane Kelly and Joseph Kitchen are the club advisors.


May 2016

Ms. Portia Harris, Honors Institute Academic Advisor at the Dale Mabry Campus received the Rising Star Award from the Florida Academic Advising Association (FLACADA) on May 2. The award was in recognition of her positive impact on students, a strong commitment to student success, and a support of the mission and philosophy of advising.


April 2016

One of HCC’s 2015 Hospitality graduates, Rachel Austin, will be receiving the “Bern Laxer Award of Excellence” at the 2016 National Tourism Week Luncheon, held at Pepin Hospitality Center on May 3, 2016. Named for Bern Laxer, the founder of Bern’s Steak House, the award is specifically designed to recognize industry contributions and exemplary service to visitors.

Dale Mabry Accounting Professor Linda Tarrago has received the “President’s Volunteer Service Bronze Award” by the Corporation for National and Community Service for her commitment to strengthen our nation and communities through volunteer service.

Hillsborough Community College student Shahriar “Shawn” Zamani was named to USA TODAY’s twenty-sixth annual All-USA Community College Academic Team, honoring him for outstanding intellectual achievement and leadership. The All-USA Community College Academic Team is a merit award based on academic success and community service.

Shawn is a member of the HCC Honors Institute, president of HCC’s chapter of Phi Beta Lambda and a Dale Mabry Campus student ambassador. The aspiring Oncology Pharmacist is active both at HCC and in the local community, making time to volunteer at the pharmacy


March 2016

Three (3) HCC apprentices won awards at the 2016 National Craft Championship competition held during the Associated Builders and Contractors Workforce Development Conference in Ft. Lauderdale. HCC’s National Craft Championship winners are: Jose Gaspar, Cox Electric; Nathaniel Lee, Cox Fire Protection; and Douglas Nelson, Cox Fire Protection. All three apprentices were sponsored by Associated Builders and Contractors Florida Gulf Coast Chapter.

Twelve (12) HCC students were selected for the 2016 All-Florida Academic Team. HCC’s students were among the 128 students selected from across the state for their academic achievement, leadership and service to the community. HCC tied Miami-Dade College for the most students selected.

The students are: Emmanuel Adonteng; Tara Belzung; Charles Dickens; Marc Flecha; Natasha Infante; Justin Kirby; Daria Leon; Landon Messick; Patience Ofouku; Victoria Orellana; Kasey Traylor; and Shawn Zamani.


February 2016

Ms. Bobbie Harris, Ybor City History Professor, received the 2016 NISOD Excellence in Teaching award. NISOD is a membership organization committed to promoting and celebrating excellences in teaching, learning, and leadership at community and technical colleges.


Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer, 813.259.6589

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm