Traveler’s Tales: The Mind’s Eye, The Hand’s Work, The Heart’s Desire on Display in the HCC Ybor City Campus Gallery

Category:

From:
Thursday, March 3, 2016 4:30 pm EST (3:30 pm CST, 2:30 pm MST, 1:30 pm PST)
To:
Tuesday, March 29, 2016 7:00 pm EDT (6:00 pm CDT, 5:00 pm MDT, 4:00 pm PDT)
Duration: 26 Days, 1 Hour, 30 Minutes

Location:

HCC Ybor City Art Gallery
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

The HCC Ybor City School of Visual and Performing Arts gallery presents a mixed media installation by the Oiseaux Sisters - Traveler’s Tales: The Mind’s Eye, The Hand’s Work, The Heart’s Desire in celebration of Women’s History Month. The exhibit runs from March 3rd to 29th. The exhibit is free and open to the public.
 
An artist’s reception will take place on Thursday, March 3rd from 4:30 - 8:00 p.m. with the gallery talk beginning at 6:15 p.m.
 
The Oiseaux Sisters, Carolyn Fellman and Susan Andrews, migrate seasonally from Moravia, NY to Gulfport, FL, with periodic detours to Mexico, Europe and Asia. In this installation, they report on a lifetime of going away and coming back different. En route they collect materials, images and idea for work. In the studio, they paste, color, snip, stamp and hammer, making biographical or mythological figurative pieces that tell stories, incorporating humor, movement and metaphor. The media they mix includes cloth, clay, plaster, paper, tin, carved and painted wood, and found objects. Whether travel talismans, small prayers, or fairy tales, the work mixes reminiscence and invention to celebrate detours, entreat safe departures and arrivals, and court chance.
 
The HCC Ybor City Art Gallery is located in the Performing Arts Building, first floor, Palm Ave and 15th street. Regular hours are Monday, Wednesday and Friday 10 a.m. – 4.pm. & Tuesday noon to 7 p.m. Parking is available in the HCC visitor lots, the Ybor Garage on 15th St and the Nuccio Parking Garage. For special arrangements for your visit or a group/class visit, contact Carolyn Kossar, 813.253.7674, ckossar@hccfl.edu, www.hccfl.edu/yborgallery, www.oiseauxsisters.com.  

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm