STAN NATCHEZ: Indian Without Reservation at the HCC Ybor City Campus Gallery

Category:

From:
Thursday, November 10, 2016 6:15 pm EST (5:15 pm CST, 4:15 pm MST, 3:15 pm PST)
To:
Friday, December 9, 2016 4:00 pm EST (3:00 pm CST, 2:00 pm MST, 1:00 pm PST)
Duration: 28 Days, 21 Hours, 45 Minutes

Location:

Ybor City School of Visual and Performing Arts Gallery
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

Hillsborough Community College’s Ybor City School of Visual and Performing Arts Gallery presents nationally-known Native American artist “Stan Natchez: Indian Without Reservation.” The exhibition will run from November 10th through December 9th.  An artist’s reception will take place on November 10th from 4:30 - 7:30 p.m. with an artist’s talk beginning at 6:15 p.m. Events are free and open to the public.
 
Video: http://www.youtube.com/v/-YFWjitKKuQ
 
Stan Natchez currently lives in Santa Fe, NM. Stan is well known for his innovative and creative paintings that document the Native American in the 21st century. Inspired by Andy Warhol, Jasper Johns, T.C. Cannon, and other pop artists, his artworks exude the power of color and familiar objects. His canvases often begin with artifacts of American culture that either directly or indirectly reflect Indians. He then includes figures such as Native Americans, mission priests or cowboys. Intricate “stars and stripes” beadwork adds texture to bold works that emanate beauty and joy. Dollar bills are layered on the canvas as a modern-day buffalo hide.
 
The Art Gallery is located in the HCC Performing Arts Building, first floor, Palm Ave and 15th Street, Ybor City.
 
The HCC Ybor City Art Gallery is located in the Performing Arts Building, first floor, Palm Ave and 15th street. Regular hours are Monday, Wednesday and Friday 10 a.m. – 4.pm. & Tuesday noon to 7 p.m. Parking is available in the HCC visitor lots, the Ybor Garage on 15th St and the Nuccio P
arking Garage. For further details or special arrangements for your visit or a group/class visit, please contact Carolyn Kossar, 813.253.7674, ckossar@hccfl.edu, www.hccfl.edu/yborgallery.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm