Ray Bradbury’s Pillar of Fire at the HCC Ybor City Theatre

Category:

From:
Friday, March 3, 2017 7:30 pm EST (6:30 pm CST, 5:30 pm MST, 4:30 pm PST)
To:
Friday, March 3, 2017 8:20 pm EST (7:20 pm CST, 6:20 pm MST, 5:20 pm PST)
Duration: 50 Minutes

Location:

HCC Mainstage Theatre
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

Hillsborough Community College’s visual and performing arts series presents Ray Bradbury’s Pillar of Fire on March 3rd at 7:30 p.m. in the Ybor City Campus Mainstage Theatre. 

Ray Bradbury’s Pillar of Fire, a 50-minute theatrical reading from Bradbury’s 1948 novella by Emmy Award –winning film and television actor Bill Oberst Jr. (Criminal Minds) will be performing at Hillsborough Community College, Ybor Campus.

Pillar of Fire is set in the year 2349 on an Earth cleansed of all superstition.  Halloween dark literature and burials are banned.  As the tale opens, the last dead man on Earth suddenly wakes up and realized that he is the planet’s last link to gothic literature and superstition.

When Bradbury died he left behind millions of what he called “my bastard children;” adults who first read him in school.  Oberst said he is one of them:  “Bradbury saved my adolescence.”  Oberst recently performed Pillar of Fire at the nation’s large theatre conference, SETC, before a packed house of college students, many of whom and never read Bradbury.  “It was so gratifying to hear those young people say they wanted to read more.  That’s what it’s all about.  That’s why I do this.”

(Pillar of Fire is read with the permission of Don Congdon Associates, Inc. on behalf of Ray Bradbury Enterprises, Inc.  Copyright 1948 Love Romance, Inc.)

Performances: March 3rd at 7:30 p.m.

Admission: $10 General Admission, $5 for non HCC students, seniors and military, free for HCC students, faculty and staff. 

Location: Hillsborough Community College, Ybor Campus, Ybor Performing Arts Building, Corner of E. Palm and N. 14th St. 
For more information and reservations, please contact Suzy DeVore at sdevore@hccfl.edu or 813-253-7682.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm