The Man Who Met the Gods at Gallery 221

Category:

From:
Monday, October 19, 2015 9:00 am EDT (8:00 am CDT, 7:00 am MDT, 6:00 am PDT)
To:
Thursday, December 10, 2015 7:00 pm EST (6:00 pm CST, 5:00 pm MST, 4:00 pm PST)
Duration: 52 Days, 11 Hours

Location:

Gallery 221
4001 W. Tampa Bay Blvd. 3rd floor library, Learning Resources Center, Dale Mabry Campus
Tampa, FL, 33614
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

Hillsborough Community College’s Gallery 221, at the Dale Mabry Campus, opens Rolando Vázquez Hernández: The Man Who Met the Gods, on October 19, 2015. An artist reception will be held from 5-7 p.m. on Thursday, October 22.

Vázquez is an interdisciplinary artist from Cuba whose artwork explores religious cults and the influence of religion in Cuban art. In The Man Who Met the Gods he will exhibit two bodies of work which will include lithographic prints, works on canvas and sculpture, and ceramic plates that have on their surface images of smoke that take on a spiritual quality. This last body of work, titled Smoke Circles, was exhibited in May 2015 at the 12th Annual Havana Biennial.

Vázquez is a graduate of the Higher Pedagogical Institute Enrique Jose Verona with an art degree specializing in sculpture. He is a member of the National Union of Writers and Artists of Cuba (UNEAC) and for 11 years he has served as professor of sculpture at the Academy of Fine Arts San Alejandro. While at San Alejandro, Vázquez created the artistic and educational project Cascarilla, a classroom-turned-gallery space for students to develop their artistic ideas and acquire the exhibition skills for their professional lives. His work is included in various institutional and private collections in Cuba, North America, South America, Europe and South Africa.

Also on display are the curious ceramic works of Polly Johnson in the gallery alcove, and acrylic and mixed media paintings by Ameena Khan in Gallery 3@HCC.

Gallery Information:
Location: Gallery 3@HCC, 3rd floor library, Learning Resources Center, Dale Mabry Campus, 4001 W. Tampa Bay Blvd., Tampa 33614 
Gallery 221 Hours: Monday – Wednesday  9 a.m. – 4 p.m.; Thursday 9 a.m. – 7 p.m.;  Friday 9 a.m. - 2 p.m.
Websitewww.hccfl.edu/gallery221

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm