KENDRA FRORUP, Flamboyant at the HCC Ybor City Gallery

Category:

From:
Thursday, February 9, 2017 10:00 am EST (9:00 am CST, 8:00 am MST, 7:00 am PST)
To:
Tuesday, March 21, 2017 7:00 pm EDT (6:00 pm CDT, 5:00 pm MDT, 4:00 pm PDT)
Duration: 40 Days, 8 Hours

Location:

HCC Ybor City Art Gallery
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

Hillsborough Community College’s Ybor City School of Visual and Performing Arts Gallery presents Flamboyant, a mixed media exhibition by Kendra Frorup. The exhibition will run from February 9th through March 21st.  An opening reception will take place on Thursday, February 9 from 4:30 - 7:30 p.m. with an artist’s talk beginning at 6:15 p.m. Events are free and open to the public.
 
Flamboyant researches the influences of culture on expression. This site-specific body of work continues her investigation of Caribbean and African cultures, identifying elements of history, community, memories, sculptural form, symbolism and spirituality. Through these explorations, she hopes to understand more about the commonalities and diversity of human social existence. Frorup is an associate professor of art at the University of Tampa.
 
The Art Gallery is located in the HCC Performing Arts Building, first floor, Palm Ave and 15th Street, Ybor City.
 
The HCC Ybor City Art Gallery is located in the Performing Arts Building, first floor, Palm Ave and 15th street. Regular hours are Monday, Wednesday and Friday 10 a.m. – 4.pm. & Tuesday noon to 7 p.m. Parking is available in the HCC visitor lots, the Ybor Garage on 15th St and the Nuccio Parking Garage. For further details or special arrangements for your visit or a group/class visit, please contact Carolyn Kossar, 813.253.7674, ckossar@hccfl.edu, www.hccfl.edu/yborgallery.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm