Hillsborough Community College Ybor City Campus Fall Dance Concert

Category:

From:
Thursday, November 17, 2016 7:30 pm EST (6:30 pm CST, 5:30 pm MST, 4:30 pm PST)
To:
Saturday, November 19, 2016 7:30 pm EST (6:30 pm CST, 5:30 pm MST, 4:30 pm PST)
Duration: 2 Days

Description:

Hillsborough Community College’s dance program and the School of Visual and Performing Arts present the annual Fall Dance Concert on November 17TH – 19th at 7:30 p.m. in the Mainstage Theatre at the Ybor City Campus. 

This year’s concert features performances by the HCC Dance Ensemble performing works by faculty and guest choreographers. Highlights include Triquetra, a piece by Beth Labaron-Root inspired by elements of natural movement, curved lines, pathways, and the connection and interplay between three performers. La Serina, a new work by Sea Lee which was created after watching “Hot Girls Wanted,” a documentary that exposes the reality of teen porn industry and the objectification of female body has deeply triggered the choreographic process of “La Sirena.” This piece traces the notion of repeated images that is imprinted in our consciousness and investigates different contexts that we want to be in today. Tendrils, created by Heather Ahern in collaboration with the dancers, explores the systems of organic materials, and the connection between humans and nature.  The dance is, at times, sinuous, meditative, and mysterious, at other times, explosive and visceral. Also on the program, a new piece by Christina Acosta that celebrates Michael Abrahamson’s photographs of the Chicago nightlife during the 1970’s.  This piece takes us back in time to Chicago’s south side and highlights the various personas that you might stumble upon.   
 
The Mainstage Theatre is in the Ybor City Campus performing arts building  located at the corner of E Palm Ave and N 14th Street (Avenida Republica de Cuba).  All performances are at 7:30 p.m. General admission is $10.00. All HCC students, faculty and staff are admitted free of charge with valid ID.  The box office opens a half hour prior to the performance.
 
Hillsborough Community College serves more than 45,000 students annually on campuses on Dale Mabry Highway in Tampa and in Brandon, Plant City, Ruskin and Ybor City. Hillsborough Community College is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. For more information, please visit hccfl.edu.
 
For more information, please contact Christina Acosta at 813.253.7623 or cacosta@hccfl.edu.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm