Hillsborough Community College Officials, Congresswoman Kathy Castor to Announce New Funding to Complete Regional Transportation and Logistics Training Center

Category:

From:
Wednesday, May 4, 2016 9:30 am EDT (8:30 am CDT, 7:30 am MDT, 6:30 am PDT)
To:
Wednesday, May 4, 2016 4:00 pm EDT (3:00 pm CDT, 2:00 pm MDT, 1:00 pm PDT)
Duration: 6 Hours, 30 Minutes

Location:

HCC’s Workforce Training Center
5610 E. Columbus Drive
Tampa, FL, 33619
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

WHAT:    In support of the state of Florida’s Jobs Initiative and the expansion of Port Tampa Bay and Tampa International Airport, Hillsborough Community College will be launching the next phases of its regional Advanced Transportation Technology Center (ATTC).  The ATTC will expand the talent pipeline of Tampa Bay’s growing transportation, logistics and distribution sector—statewide, 50,000 transportation-related jobs are projected through 2020. 
 
HCC is adding four new training programs in Diesel Technologies, Alternative Fuels Systems (CNG & LP), Aviation/Avionics, and an Automated People Mover/Light Rail Systems training program.  The new programs will complement existing programs in Automotive Collision Repair, Automotive Technology, Advanced Welding Technology and Bus Transit Technology.
 
The announcement of corporate support, the largest corporate donation in HCC’s history, is an example of the college’s efforts to establish public-private partnerships that will grow Tampa Bay’s economy.  It is the second major private investment towards the development of the ATTC, the first being a $250,000 grant to expand the welding program.  The project also received $2.75 million in funding during the 2016 Legislative Session and has previously received two awards totaling $600,000 from the U.S. Department of Commerce Economic Development Administration.  The Hillsborough County Commission also provided a $75,000 grant for equipment at the ATTC to help support the college’s role as a founding partner of the newly formed Manufacturing Alliance of Hillsborough County.  
 
When:   9:30 a.m., Wednesday, May 4, 2016 (press conference); facility tours follow
Where:  HCC’s Workforce Training Center
            5610 E. Columbus Drive, Tampa, FL 33619
 
Visuals:  Tours of new facilities, interviews with students, professors and HCC officials
Available for interview: Congresswoman Kathy Castor, HCC President Dr. Ken Atwater

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm