Hillsborough Community College Offers Summer Youth Science Camps

Category:

From:
Monday, July 11, 2016 9:00 am EDT (8:00 am CDT, 7:00 am MDT, 6:00 am PDT)
To:
Friday, August 5, 2016 4:00 pm EDT (3:00 pm CDT, 2:00 pm MDT, 1:00 pm PDT)
Duration: 25 Days, 7 Hours

Location:

HCC Dale Mabry Campus
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

Area students will have the opportunity to attend summer youth science camps at the Hillsborough Community College Dale Mabry Campus from July 11-August 5.  The campus is hosting four weeks of camps, each with a specific scientific discipline.  The camps are open to students entering sixth through eighth grades and are designed to introduce students to HCC’s STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) curriculum.

The camps will be taught by HCC faculty and will include camp projects, experiments and trips as part of the weeklong curriculum. Each camp costs $225.00 per week.

“Unlike many other summer camps, this one has been developed and will be taught by HCC faculty in college labs and facilities,” stated Jim Wysong, dean of the math and sciences division at the Dale Mabry Campus.  “The intent is to excite and engage students through exposure to a real college learning experience.”

Summer Youth Science Camps Schedule:
Biology: July 11-15
Chemistry: July 18-22
Microbiology: July 25-29
Physics: August 1-5

HCC also offers Kids’ College and Teen Camps, which provide a wide range of weekly camps throughout the summer at various campuses and locations in Hillsborough County, including the FLATE 2016 Robotics and Engineering Summer Camps at the Brandon Campus during the months of June and July.  

To sign up for the science camps or for additional information on the HCC Kids’ College and Teen Camps, please visit http://tampatraining.com/kids-college/. For additional information or to sign up for the upcoming FLATE 2016 Robotics and Engineering Summer Campus, please visit www.fl-ate.org/projects/camps.html or contact (813) 259-6578.

Hillsborough Community College serves more than 44,000 students annually at five campuses and three centers throughout Hillsborough County. HCC is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm