Hillsborough Community College Music Presents Dido and Aeneas

Category:

From:
Wednesday, April 27, 2016 7:30 pm EDT (6:30 pm CDT, 5:30 pm MDT, 4:30 pm PDT)
To:
Wednesday, April 27, 2016 9:30 pm EDT (8:30 pm CDT, 7:30 pm MDT, 6:30 pm PDT)
Duration: 2 Hours

Location:

HCC Mainstage Theatre
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

Hillsborough Community College’s music department presents Dido and Aeneas on April 27th at 7:30 p.m. at the Ybor City Campus Mainstage Theatre. 
Free Admission
Hillsborough Community College, Ybor Campus, Ybor Performing Arts Building, Corner of E. Palm and N. 14th St. 

About Dido and Aeneas:
Love, Betrayal, and, yes, Drunken Sailors collide in one of opera’s most celebrated stories. Dido, a noble queen, and Aeneas, a handsome prince, have finally professed their love for each other, but the evil sorceress and her gaggle of witches have created a devious plan to thwart the young lovers' happiness. Come and be a part of the drama as HCC presents its first opera!

About the Director:
Brett Karlin has worked with a variety of ensembles from large symphonic choirs to twelve-voice, professional chamber choirs. In 2009, Mr. Karlin became the assistant conductor for Seraphic Fire and Firebird Chamber Orchestra, where he assisted with the ensemble’s critically-acclaimed and 2012 Grammy nominated CD A Seraphic Fire Christmas. Recently, Mr. Karlin was involved in another 2012 Grammy nominated recording project - a recording of the London version of Brahm’s Ein Deutches Requiem as assistant chorus master and singer for the Professional Choral Institute, which was nominated for “Best Choral Performance.”

Since becoming the assistant conductor for The Master Chorale of Tampa Bay in 2010, Mr. Karlin has assisted with the preparation of choruses for artistic collaborations with Richard Kaufman, Stefan Sanderling, Richard Zeller, Heidi Grant Murphy, René Clausen, and Andrea Bocelli. Additionally, Mr. Karlin appears as guest conductor on three Florida Orchestra subscription series concerts each season to conduct the premiere of The Master Chorale’s annual composition competition winner. During the 2011/12 season, he assisted with the preparation of the Chorale for a Naxos label recording of Frederick Delius’ Seadrift and Appalachia with the Florida Orchestra.

In his capacity as Director of Choral Studies at Hillsborough Community College, Mr. Karlin conducts the HCC Concert Choir and Collegium, maintains a private studio of voice students, and oversees the general operations of the voice area. Between his first and second semester of teaching at HCC, Mr. Karlin was able to double the size of both choirs, and also organized the choral department’s first choral-orchestra performance of a masterwork. Upcoming academic projects include a concert entitled Requiem: Songs of Loss and Renewal and Purcell’s Dido and Aeneas as part of HCC Music Department’s newly created opera program.

Mr. Karlin currently holds the positions of assistant conductor for the Master Chorale of Tampa Bay and director of choral studies at Hillsborough Community College. He holds a bachelor's of arts in voice from Florida State University and master's of music degree from University of South Florida. An avid lover of music from the Baroque era and HIP (historically informed performance), Mr. Karlin can be found tuning harpsichords and listening to J.S. Bach when not working with choirs.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm