Hillsborough Community College Holds Welding Program Graduation

Category:

From:
Friday, August 5, 2016 10:00 am EDT (9:00 am CDT, 8:00 am MDT, 7:00 am PDT)
To:
Friday, August 5, 2016 12:00 pm EDT (11:00 am CDT, 10:00 am MDT, 9:00 am PDT)
Duration: 2 Hours

Location:

HCC Ybor City Campus
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

Hillsborough Community College (HCC) will hold a welding program graduation on Friday, August 5th at 10 a.m. on the Ybor City Campus. The third graduating class in the program’s history will have 46 participating graduates. Each graduate has earned an American Welding Society 3-G Certification. 
 
Fifteen of the 46 graduates participated in an evening cohort made possible by a $250,000 grant from the JP Morgan Chase Foundation.  Through the grant, HCC was able to expand its program and create an accelerated night format in order to meet local workforce demands. The grant is part of JPMC’s commitment to address workforce readiness through its New Skills at Work Initiative, aimed to help individuals develop the skills they need to compete for today's jobs.
 
Through 2019, Florida is expected to need 5,000 new welders with median salaries of $39,000 annually, according to Tampa-Hillsborough Economic Development Corp. and CareerSource.
 
HCC’s welding program, housed at the Ybor City Campus Training Center, prepares individuals to become certified welding technicians through hands-on training and advanced coursework. All students in the program are eligible to earn industry-recognized credentials certified by the American Welding Society that lead directly into employment and are eligible to articulate towards an associate in science degree in Industrial Management.  
 
Hillsborough Community College serves more than 45,000 students annually on campuses on Dale Mabry Highway in Tampa and in Brandon, Plant City, Ruskin, and Ybor City.   HCC is accredited to offer associate degrees and certificates by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm