Hillsborough Community College Brandon Campus to host 2017 Suncoast FIRST® LEGO® League qualifier tournament

Category:

From:
Saturday, January 7, 2017 8:00 am EST (7:00 am CST, 6:00 am MST, 5:00 am PST)
To:
Saturday, January 7, 2017 4:00 pm EST (3:00 pm CST, 2:00 pm MST, 1:00 pm PST)
Duration: 8 Hours

Location:

HCC Brandon Campus
10414 E. Columbus Dr.
Tampa, FL, 33619
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

On Saturday, January 7, 2017, Hillsborough Community College (HCC) Brandon Campus, in conjunction with the Suncoast Credit Union Foundation, welcomes the Central West Florida FIRST® LEGO League qualifier tournament.
 
Twenty-four middle school teams from Hillsborough, Pasco and Pinellas counties will put their engineering skills to the test using LEGO® bricks to build fully functioning robots. This tournament will also include two teams representing the Cayman Islands. The top eight teams from the qualifier will advance to the Regional Robotics Championship to be held at the HCC Plant City Campus Trinkle Center on January 28, 2017.
 
The Central West Florida FIRST® LEGO League qualifier runs 8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. at the HCC Brandon Campus located at 10414 E Columbus Dr., Tampa, FL 33619.
 
The competition is free and open to the public.
 
FIRST® was founded by inventor Dean Kamen to inspire young people’s interest and participation in science and technology. FIRST® offers a progression of four K-12 after-school programs for young people, starting at age 6 and continuing through middle school and high-school levels, up to age 18. For more information, please visit: www.suncoastfll.org.
 
Hillsborough Community College serves over 45,000 students annually at its five campuses located throughout Tampa Bay. The college is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm