HCC Ybor City Theatre Performs Miss Julie

Category:

From:
Wednesday, April 5, 2017 7:30 pm EDT (6:30 pm CDT, 5:30 pm MDT, 4:30 pm PDT)
To:
Sunday, April 9, 2017 3:00 pm EDT (2:00 pm CDT, 1:00 pm MDT, 12:00 pm PDT)
Duration: 3 Days, 19 Hours, 30 Minutes

Location:

HCC Ybor City Campus Performing Arts Building
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

Hillsborough Community College’s theatre program presents Miss Julie by August Strindberg on April 5th – 9th at 7:30 p.m. in the Ybor City Campus Mainstage Theatre. Performance is directed by Suzy DeVore.
 
August Strindberg's once-controversial play Miss Julie is set on the estate of a wealthy Swedish family in 1894, where the servants live a life of uncomfortable poverty while the masters of the house enjoy their riches. On Midsummer's Eve, the servants and the local peasants have gathered for their traditional celebration, while one of the household cooks is waiting for her fiancé, a footman named Jean. However, Jean is intercepted by Miss Julie, whose family owns the estate (and pays Jean's salary). She instructs Jean to change into a formal suit (which Miss Julie has borrowed from her father) and dance with her. Jean has little choice but to accept, and he finds himself slipping into an affair that both questions and affirms the traditional relationship between mistress and servant.
 
Performances: Wednesday thru Saturday 7:30 p.m. & Saturday and Sunday 3 p.m.
Admission: $10 General Admission, $5 for non HCC students, seniors and military, free for HCC students, faculty and staff.  Cash only at the box office, day of performance.
Location: Hillsborough Community College, Ybor Campus, Ybor Performing Arts Building, Corner of E. Palm and N. 14th St. 
 
For more information about Miss Julie, please contact sdevore@hccfl.edu or 813-253-7682.  Seating is limited.  Reservations are highly recommended.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm