HCC Ybor City Celebrates Hispanic Heritage Month

Category:

From:
Saturday, December 1, 2012 12:00 am EST
Friday, November 30, 2012 11:00 pm CST (10:00 pm MST, 9:00 pm PST)
To:
Monday, December 31, 2012 11:59 pm EST (10:59 pm CST, 9:59 pm MST, 8:59 pm PST)
Duration: 30 Days, 23 Hours, 59 Minutes

Location:

HCC Ybor City Campus
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

As has been a tradition for over 20 years, the Ybor City Campus celebrated Hispanic Heritage Month in a grand fashion.  The month kicked off with a wonderful lecture on the life and works of the famous surrealist Spanish painter Salvador Dali, presented by Sandy Woodworth, a docent from the Salvador Dali Museum in St. Petersburg.  Life imitated art as students sported ‘Dali moustaches’.  The museum brought Dali give-a-ways and students were treated to sweet and savory empanadas, Latin fruits, and tasty plaintains.

The next event was a month-long art exhibition with Cuban abstract artist Juan T. Vasquez Martin, who created art on canvas right in the Ybor Art Gallery while being accompanied on the piano by HCC Ybor music student Scott Lazich.  He also gave a lecture through a translator, former HCC Professor Dr. Luz Lono, and spoke to students informally throughout the month about painting and life in Cuba.

In week three, it was an afternoon at the movies!   “La Misma Luna” – “Under the Same Moon,” a touching movie, was shown in Spanish with English subtitles.  There wasn’t a dry eye in the house when the film ended!

The celebration was capped off by Ybor’s traditional Latin Fiesta, an evening of food and dance.  Students, faculty, staff, and their guests enjoyed ‘arroz con pollo’ (chicken and rice) and Spanish tortilla from Ybor’s own Colombia Restaurant while dancing the salsa, bachata, meringue, and cumbia to the great sound of the Latin Fun Singers.  It was well attended, and a great time was had by all.

The Hispanic Heritage Committee wishes to thank the Ybor SGA for their continued support of this important cultural event.  The Committee also wishes to thank the Ybor City Campus Library staff for their tradition of creating a beautiful display of Hispanic artifacts, art work, and books in their display cases on the second floor of YLRC.      

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm