HCC Ybor City Art Gallery Opens New Exhibition, BOUND

Category:

From:
Monday, January 7, 2013 10:00 am EST (9:00 am CST, 8:00 am MST, 7:00 am PST)
To:
Wednesday, January 30, 2013 4:00 pm EST (3:00 pm CST, 2:00 pm MST, 1:00 pm PST)
Duration: 23 Days, 6 Hours

Location:

HCC Ybor City Art Gallery
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

The Hillsborough Community College Ybor City School of Visual and Performing Arts Gallery presents an exhibition of mixed media assemblage works by well-known Florida artist Rocky Bridges. Bridges’ constructions are carefully composed meditations on the transience of functional, manufactured items from our contemporary, material culture. The exhibit will run January 7 - 30. A reception with the artist will take place Thursday, January 17 from 4:30 to 7:30 p.m.
 
“In all of my work, I hope to celebrate the beauty and material existence of the discarded object. The history of the object, through its scratches and scars, dents and rust, is being honored,” said Bridges. “The objects find a heightened level in their new arrangements; they are reinvented and have new meaning in aesthetically ordered settings.”
 
The original design and function of objects, their use and their eventual discarding becomes a metaphor for the evolving relationship of man and his environment.
 
“There is an optimistic attitude that carries throughout the work,” Bridges says. “I have attempted to express the power of positive thought through the use of color and various combinations of materials. The realities of recent events in the world have induced people to utilize their inner strengths. Through individual spirituality, faith and the belief in humanity, this new body of artwork establishes a truth that builds hope and invites a new reality.”
 
As a young man Rocky participated in a mentorship with Cy Twombly in Rome, then graduated with a BFA from the Cooper Union in NYC. He received a Rothberg Fellowship that led to study in Turkey, a National Foundation for Advancement in Arts Residency Fellowship in Miami Beach, and most recently, a Fullbright Memorial Scholarship to Japan. His work is in the permanent collections of the Tampa Museum of Art, Stetson Law School, the Polk Museum of Art and St. Petersburg College. Rocky lives in Tarpon Springs and teaches at the Harrison School for the Arts in Lakeland.
 
Gallery hours are Monday and Wednesday through Friday 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. and Tuesdays noon to 7 p.m. The gallery is located in the Performing Arts Building, first floor, Palm Ave and 15th Street. The exhibit is free and open to the public.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm