HCC Theatre Ybor Presents The Meeting

Category:

From:
Thursday, January 10, 2013 7:30 pm EST (6:30 pm CST, 5:30 pm MST, 4:30 pm PST)
To:
Friday, January 11, 2013 7:30 pm EST (6:30 pm CST, 5:30 pm MST, 4:30 pm PST)
Duration: 1 Day

Location:

HCC Mainstage Theatre
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

Hillsborough Community College Presents
THE MEETING by Jeff Stetson
Directed by Alan Bomar Jones and Bryant Bentley
 
January 10 & 11
HCC Ybor City Mainstage Theatre
7:30 p.m.
 
Starring:
Alan Bomar Jones as Malcolm X
Bryant Bentley as Dr. Martin Luther King
Law Dunford as (recorded voice of ) Rashad
 
The Meeting is an engaging and intelligent play that depicts a fictional account of a secret meeting between Malcolm X and Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Following the bombing of Malcolm X’s home and shortly before he was assassinated, Malcolm and Martin meet in a room inside the historic Theresa Hotel. This riveting play deals with issues that are still relevant today, such as: war, poverty, racism, and the need for Black self-empowerment.  They were two men with different ideologies, but a common understanding of the plight of Black Americans.
 
General Admission is $10 with $5 Senior tickets and $5 Student tickets for all showing a valid public school or college ID. FREE with HCC ID card.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm