HCC Softball to honor the memory of Coach Ray Seymour

Category:

From:
Tuesday, January 31, 2017 6:00 pm EST (5:00 pm CST, 4:00 pm MST, 3:00 pm PST)
To:
Tuesday, January 31, 2017 8:00 pm EST (7:00 pm CST, 6:00 pm MST, 5:00 pm PST)
Duration: 2 Hours

Location:

HCC Plant City Stadium
1900 S. Park Rd.
Plant City, FL, 33563
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

The Hillsborough Community College (HCC) Softball team will honor the memory of long-time softball coach, Ray Seymour, on Tuesday, January 31, 2017 at 6:00 p.m at Plant City Stadium. Seymour passed away at the end of the 2016 softball season.
 
Seymour led the HCC Softball program for more than two decades and served as director of the Tampa Mustang Fastpitch Softball Organization.
 
By the end of the 2016 season at HCC, Seymour completed his 25th season as the head coach of the Lady Hawks softball team, amassed more than 683 wins at the college, and coached the Lady Hawks to Suncoast Conference titles in 2005 and 2013.
 
Seymour also achieved much success as the head coach of the Tampa Mustangs Fastpitch Softball Organization, registering over 1,000 wins and winning numerous regional and national championships.  Seymour and his wife, Cathy, founded the organization in 1981 to promote softball for local youths.
 
Coach Seymour played quarterback for Chamberlain High School, which won the 1961 State Championship.  Coach Seymour is a product of the community college system, attending Hutchinson Community College in Kansas where he made all-conference.  After two years at Hutchinson Community College, he transferred to the University of Texas - El Paso on a football scholarship.  After college he played tournament fastpitch softball throughout the Southeast.
 
The tribute will take place at Plant City Stadium located at 1900 S. Park Rd., Plant City, FL 33563.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm