HCC Plant City Campus to host the Central West Florida FIRST® LEGO® League Regional Robotics Championship

Category:

From:
Saturday, January 28, 2017 9:00 am EST (8:00 am CST, 7:00 am MST, 6:00 am PST)
To:
Saturday, January 28, 2017 3:00 pm EST (2:00 pm CST, 1:00 pm MST, 12:00 pm PST)
Duration: 6 Hours

Location:

HCC Plant City Campus, John R. Trinkle Center
1206 N. Park Road
Plant City, FL, 33563
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

On Saturday, January 28, 2017, Hillsborough Community College (HCC) Plant City Campus, in conjunction with the Suncoast Credit Union Foundation, welcomes the Central West Florida FIRST® LEGO® League Regional Robotics Championship.
 
Thirty-two teams of elementary and middle school students from Hillsborough, Pasco, Pinellas, Manatee, Highlands, Lee and Collier counties will put their engineering skills to the test using LEGO® Mindstorms robots to solve challenges during two-and-a-half-minute matches at the HCC Trinkle Center in Plant City.
 
The championship team will advance to the FIRST® LEGO® League World Festival to be hosted in Houston, Texas in April 2017.  Additionally, teams will have the opportunity to advance to the LEGOLAND® North American Open in Carlsbad, California, the Razorback Invitational at the University of Arkansas and the Asia Pacific Open in Australia.
 
The Central West Florida FIRST® LEGO® League Regional Robotics Championship runs from 9:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m. at the HCC Trinkle Center located at 1206 N. Park Rd., Plant City, FL 33563.
 
The competition is free and open to the public.
 
For more information on the tournament:  www.suncoastfll.org.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm