HCC Offers Summer Learning at Kids’ and Teen College Camps

Category:

From:
Monday, June 13, 2016 9:00 am EDT (8:00 am CDT, 7:00 am MDT, 6:00 am PDT)
To:
Friday, August 5, 2016 4:00 pm EDT (3:00 pm CDT, 2:00 pm MDT, 1:00 pm PDT)
Duration: 53 Days, 7 Hours

Description:

 Hillsborough Community College (HCC) will host its Kids’ and Teen College Camps beginning the week of June 13-17 at nine HCC locations.  The camps will run for eight weeks through the week of August 5 and will be open to students entering grades 1-10 for the upcoming 2016-2017 school year.  Each of the camps provides the opportunity for in-depth exploration and experiences to learn. 

An open house event about the available camps will be held on Saturday, May 21 from 10:30 a.m. – 2:30 p.m. at the HCC Brandon Campus. 

“We are excited to offer such a wide variety of camps across many grade levels at nine HCC locations,” stated Damon Chepren, HCC camp coordinator. “Each year our Kids’ and Teen College Camps expand to include new offerings in sports, STEM, the arts, careers and the outdoors.”

A sampling of available camps include:
Florida Adventures Travel Camp (Teens): June 13-17
Extreme Makeover: June 20-24
Veterinary Science Camp (Teens): June 27-July 1
Fishing Camp: July 5-8
Girls Basketball: July 11-15
Take the Stage: July 18-22
Microbiology Camp (Teens): July 25-29
Broadcasting Bootcamp (Teens): August 1-5

Full-day camps range in price from $149-$265 per week and will run from 9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. Half-day camps range in price from $79-$199 per week and will run from either 9:00 a.m. – noon or from 1:00-4:00 p.m. Camps include a nutritious breakfast and lunch each day. 

Scholarships are available for families in need of financial assistance. The Suncoast Credit Union Foundation is partnering with HCC to offer a limited number of scholarships.  The scholarships are available on a first-come, first-served basis. Discounts are also offered for registrations of four weeks or more (must be purchased together) and multi-sibling registrations. 

To sign up or to receive additional information on offerings through the HCC Kids’ College and Teen Camps, please visit http://tampatraining.com/kids-college/ or contact (813) 259-6010. Registrations are accepted up to one week prior to the start of camp, provided space is available. 

Hillsborough Community College serves more than 44,000 students annually at five campuses and three centers throughout Hillsborough County. HCC is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm