HCC Hosts Annual International Education Week

Category:

From:
Monday, November 14, 2016 11:00 am EST (10:00 am CST, 9:00 am MST, 8:00 am PST)
To:
Thursday, November 17, 2016 12:30 pm EST (11:30 am CST, 10:30 am MST, 9:30 am PST)
Duration: 3 Days, 1 Hour, 30 Minutes

Location:

Dale Mabry Campus
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

Hillsborough Community College (HCC) will celebrate International Education Week on November 14-17. Each year, this week is celebrated across the country to bring attention and support to international education exchange and to encourage further development of such programs in the United States and abroad.  The first International Education Week was held in 2000 and is an initiative on behalf of the U.S. Department of State.

The HCC Center for International Education (CIE) will host a number of events during the week at the Dale Mabry Campus.  Students, faculty, staff and the public are invited to meet with international student ambassadors to learn about different cultures and regions of the world through displays, music and more. 

Scheduled activities will include:

MONDAY, NOVEMBER 14, 2016
11:00 am - 2:00 pm | Student Government Association Patio
International Education Week Kick-off Fair

4:00 pm - 6:00 pm | Learning Resources Center (DLRC 106)
Fulbright Speaker: Education in Ancient Greece by Dr. Maria Paz de Hoz

TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 15, 2016
11:00 am - 12:00 pm | Student Government Association Lounge
Culture Shock Presentation by Dr. Rafael Fuentes

12:00 pm - 3:00 pm | Social Sciences Building (DSSC 322)
Center for International Education (CIE) Open House

3:30 pm - 4:45 pm | Student Government Association Lounge
Documentary Film Viewing by Student Government Association
Just Like Us - A Celebration of Culture and Comedy

WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 16, 2016
11:00 am - 2:00 pm | Student Government Association Patio
Study Abroad Fair by Center for International Education

THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 17, 2016
11:00 am - 12:30 pm | Career Center
Study Abroad Career Development Session by Career Resource Center

For additional information about International Education Week at HCC, please visit hccfl.edu/iew.  

Hillsborough Community College serves over 45,000 students annually at its five campuses located throughout Tampa Bay.  The college is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm