HCC Hosts 47th Annual Commencement Ceremony

Category:

From:
Friday, May 6, 2016 7:00 am EDT (6:00 am CDT, 5:00 am MDT, 4:00 am PDT)
To:
Friday, May 6, 2016 12:00 pm EDT (11:00 am CDT, 10:00 am MDT, 9:00 am PDT)
Duration: 5 Hours

Location:

Florida State Fairgrounds, Expo Hall
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

The 47th Annual Commencement Exercise of Hillsborough Community College (HCC) was held Friday, May 6, 2016, in the Expo Hall of the Florida State Fairgrounds.  This year’s commencement speaker was be President and Owner of Automotive Investments, Frank Morsani.  The student speaker was be Phi Theta Kappa member, National Society of Collegiate Scholar, and American Medical Student Association member, Shahrzad Zamani. 

Over 3,700 students were eligible to participate in the graduation ceremony which included those who completed coursework over the 2015-16 academic year. Graduates included those receiving the associate in arts, associate in science, and college credit certificates.  The youngest graduate was 16-year-old Song Hee Kang who has earned an Associates in Science degree and four College Credit Certificates.  The oldest graduate was 64-year-old Nan Tolbert who has earned a degree in Medical Office Administration.

It is anticipated that over 900 students participated in this year’s ceremony.

Hillsborough Community College serves more than 45,000 students annually on campuses on Dale Mabry Highway in Tampa and in Brandon, Plant City, Ruskin, and Ybor City. HCC is accredited to offer associate degrees and certificates by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm