HCC Dance Presents Cakeface’s Harold, I Hate You

Category:

From:
Friday, October 9, 2015 7:30 pm EDT (6:30 pm CDT, 5:30 pm MDT, 4:30 pm PDT)
To:
Saturday, October 10, 2015 7:30 pm EDT (6:30 pm CDT, 5:30 pm MDT, 4:30 pm PDT)
Duration: 1 Day

Location:

HCC Mainstage Theatre
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

Hillsborough Community College’s Visual and Performing Arts Series presents Cakeface’s Harold, I hate you on October 9th and 10th starting at 7:30 p.m. in the HCC Mainstage Theatre.

ABOUT THE WORK
I don't know who Harold is, but I'm pretty sure I hate him. Florida, 1985. Chris isn't eating his broccoli. There's a knock at the door. Grams says it's a little boy named Harold who lives upstairs. He has come to eat our dinner. We clean the plates just in time, but he returns again and again. Harold, I hate you is an exploration of the many incarnations "the boy from upstairs” took on in cakeface director Amanda Szeglowski’s rabid imagination. This new work is an investigation of omnipresent insecurities, that are, perhaps, imaginary.
“Think Monica Bill Barnes for the Amy Schumer Generation.” – Culture Bot

"Squeaky clean automatons, crisp and uniform in gesture." - Eva Yaa Asantewaa, InfiniteBody
"Skillful all-female dance/theater troupe." - Eva Yaa Asantewaa, InfiniteBody

ABOUT CAKEFACE
cakeface has been presented by Stony Brook University, Dance New Amsterdam, AUNTS, Movement Research at Judson Memorial Church, Dixon Place, Triskelion Arts, RoofTop Dance with the Roger Smith Hotel, Going Dutch (Chicago, IL), Smith & Tinker writers’ group, Hillsborough Community College (Tampa, FL), Rebound Dance Festival (New Haven, CT) and the Florida Dance Festival (Tampa, FL). cakeface has guest lectured at the University of South Florida, and taught master classes at the University of Tampa and Howard W. Blake School for the Arts.

Check out Culture Bots article called “Eight Reasons cakeface’s Harold, I Hate You Is Your New Favorite Downtown Dance/Theater Piece” http://www.culturebot.org/2015/05/24060/eight-reasons-cakefaces-harold-i-hate-you-is-your-new-favorite-downtown-dancetheater-piece/

Amanda Szeglowski, Artistic Director, a Tampa native, is a writer, director and choreographer, as well as a 2014-15 HERE Resident Artist, where she is currently developing her newest project, Stairway to Stardom. Formerly a company dancer with Ellis Wood Dance over a span of four years, she performed with the company throughout NYC and on tour in locations such as Portugal, Germany, San Diego, and Washington D.C., and set work/taught at UC Berkeley and New York University, among others, all while also serving as the company’s Managing Director. Amanda launched cakeface in 2008. She graduated summa cum laude from the University of South Florida with a degree in Dance and Business.
 
Harold, I hate you.
 
written + directed by Amanda Szeglowski
performed by Ayesha Jordan, Jeso O’Neill and Amanda Szeglowski
with special guest Cary Hite
lighting by Amanda K. Ringger
sound by Jeso O’Neill
set design by Amanda Szeglowski
costumes by Elle Chyun
Harold, I hate you is an evening-length work. 
All tickets are $10
All HCC students, faculty and staff are admitted free of charge with valid ID.  The box office opens an hour prior to the performance.

The Mainstage Theatre is in the performing arts building of the Ybor City Campus. It is located at the corner of E Palm Ave and N 14th Street (Avenida Republica de Cuba).

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm