HCC Brandon to host 2016 Regional Science Olympiad

Category:

From:
Saturday, January 23, 2016 8:00 am EST (7:00 am CST, 6:00 am MST, 5:00 am PST)
To:
Saturday, January 23, 2016 4:00 pm EST (3:00 pm CST, 2:00 pm MST, 1:00 pm PST)
Duration: 8 Hours

Location:

HCC Brandon Campus
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

The Hillsborough Community College Brandon campus will host the 2016 Regional Science Olympiad on Saturday, January 23rd starting at am. The event is an exciting team science competition for hundreds of middle and high school students to engage in a variety of science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) events throughout the day.
 
More than 30 teams of students will compete in dozens of STEM activities including building bottle rockets and robotics in hopes of winning division titles. Division winners will have the opportunity to be invited to the state Science Olympiad competition.
 
Science Olympiad was founded in 1983 to increase interest in science and as an alternative to traditional science fairs and single-discipline tournaments. Science Olympiad has members in all 50 states, totaling more than 12,000 actively participating K-12 schools.
 
This is HCC Brandon’s 4th year hosting the event.
 
For more information, please contact Dr. Scott Behrens at (813) 253-7995 or sbehrens@hccfl.edu.

2016 Science Olympiad competition schedules:
http://www.hccfl.edu/br/science-olympiad.aspx.
 
For pictures from the 2015 Science Olympiad at HCC:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/hccfl/sets/72157640466373753/

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm