Gallery 221 Presents Mark Joseph Oliver: Not Here But There

Category:

From:
Monday, March 20, 2017 9:00 am EDT (8:00 am CDT, 7:00 am MDT, 6:00 am PDT)
To:
Thursday, April 27, 2017 7:00 pm EDT (6:00 pm CDT, 5:00 pm MDT, 4:00 pm PDT)
Duration: 38 Days, 10 Hours

Location:

Gallery 221
4001 W. Tampa Bay Blvd. 2nd floor library, Learning Resources Center, Dale Mabry Campus
Tampa, FL, 33614
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

Gallery 221 at the Hillsborough Community College Dale Mabry Campus, is pleased to announce its upcoming exhibition, Mark Joseph Oliver: Not Here But There.  The exhibit will run from March 20 – April 27, with an exhibition reception and talk scheduled for Thursday, March 23, from 5-7 p.m.

Utilizing photography and sculpture to explore the role that location serves as a monument to the past, present and future, Mark Joseph Oliver invites the viewer to engage in memories of his experiences while at the same time creating a shared experience in the present. Known to create immersive installations, Oliver will continue in that practice for this exhibition as well. Informed by a recent trip to Norway, the artist will install the skeleton of a whale boat which will rest upon a base of salt and consume a large portion of the gallery floor space. Black and white landscape photographs with a screen print overlay, and video installation will also be included in the exhibition.

Oliver is currently based in Ashville, North Carolina.  He is a Tampa native and graduated from Hillsborough Community College before completing his BFA at the University of South Florida.  He received his MFA in Sculpture from the Maryland Institute College of Art, Baltimore, Maryland. 

To learn more about the artist and his work please visit his website at markjosepholiver.com.

All programs are free and open to the public.

Gallery 221 Information:
Location: 2nd floor library, Learning Resources Center, Dale Mabry Campus, 4001 W. Tampa Bay Blvd., Tampa 33614
Gallery Hours: Monday – Wednesday 9a.m. – 4p.m.; Thursday 9a.m – 7p.m; Friday 9a.m. - 2 p.m. ADDITIONAL HOURS FOR THIS EXHIBITION ARE AVAILABLE BY APPOINTMENT
Media Contact: Patricia Sriram| psriram@hccfl.edu | 813-253-7386
Website: www.hccfl.edu/gallery221

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm