Gallery 221 Presents Kara Walker: Harper’s Pictorial History of the Civil War (Annotated)

Category:

From:
Tuesday, January 19, 2016 9:00 am EST (8:00 am CST, 7:00 am MST, 6:00 am PST)
To:
Thursday, March 3, 2016 7:00 pm EST (6:00 pm CST, 5:00 pm MST, 4:00 pm PST)
Duration: 44 Days, 10 Hours

Location:

Gallery 221
4001 W. Tampa Bay Blvd. 2nd floor library, Learning Resources Center, Dale Mabry Campus
Tampa, FL, 33614
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

Gallery 221 at the Hillsborough Community College (HCC) Dale Mabry Campus, is pleased to announce its upcoming exhibition, Kara Walker: Harper’s Pictorial History of the Civil War (Annotated), scheduled to open on January 19, 2016. An exhibition reception and talk are planned for January 21st from 5 to 7 p.m. This exhibition is a coup for our community and will be presented through March 3, 2016, with additional viewing hours available. The exhibition and reception are organized in conjunction with the Tampa Bay Black Heritage Festival.

Included in this exhibition are 15 large-scale prints of enlarged illustrations from Harper’s Pictorial History of the Civil War, a compilation of news reports about the war over which Walker superimposes her now iconic black silhouette figures of stereotypical and hyperbolized African Americans. Until this body of work, Walker had never before placed her silhouette forms in direct dialogue with historic imagery, ultimately challenging the racial history and historiography of the United States.

Also included in the exhibition are three prints from Harper’s Weekly with illustrations by Winslow Homer. The exhibition has been organized by the Cornell Fine Arts Museum at Rollins College, Winter Park, Florida.

Kara Walker is best known for her life-size silhouettes cut from black paper that examine racial tensions in America and expose the myth of the “Romantic South.” Her work often addresses themes of power, repression, history, sexuality and identity. Walker was born in Compton, California, and at age 13 relocated to Stone Mountain, a suburb of Atlanta, GA with her family. It is here where much of Walker’s ideology on race relations was influenced. She received her BFA from the Atlanta College of Art and her MFA from the Rhode Island School of Design. In 1997, Walker was included in the Biennial exhibition at the Whitney Museum of American Art, and later that year, at the age of 27, she became the youngest recipient of the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation’s “genius” grant.

Over the course of her impressive career Walker has had many exhibitions at prestigious institutions such as the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, The Tate Liverpool, England, and the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art. In 2014 she converted the old Domino sugar factory in Brooklyn into an exhibition space where she created a massive, sphinx-like woman out of sugar as an homage to the people in the sugar industry who have worked grueling hours for little or no pay. In 2007, TIME magazine named Walker to its prestigious "TIME 100" list.

In addition to being well-received, however, Walker's work is not without controversy. In 1997, a group of older African-American artists, led by artist Betye Saar, an artist also known for challenging black stereotypes, criticized Walker for using what they considered to be black stereotypes in her art, and tried to organize a boycott of her work. Walker does not stray away from difficult subjects, which makes her one of the leading artistic voices on the topic of race and racism.

Walker currently resides in New York and is on the MFA faculty at Rutgers University.
 
All Gallery 221 programs are free and open to the public.

Gallery 221 Information:
Exhibition Title
: Kara Walker: Harper’s Pictorial History of the Civil War (Annotated)
Exhibition Dates: January 19 – March 3, 2016
Location: Gallery 221@HCC, 2nd floor library, Learning Resources Center, Dale Mabry Campus, 4001 W. Tampa Bay Blvd., Tampa 33614
Gallery Hours: Monday – Wednesday 9a.m. – 4p.m.; Thursday 9a.m – 7p.m; Friday 9a.m. - 2 p.m. ADDITIONAL HOURS FOR THIS EXHIBITION ARE AVAILABLE BY APPOINTMENT
Media Contact: Patricia Sriram| psriram@hccfl.edu | 813-253-7386
Website: www.hccfl.edu/gallery221

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm