Gallery 221 Presents Akiko Kotani: Soft Walls

Category:

From:
Monday, October 17, 2016 9:00 am EDT (8:00 am CDT, 7:00 am MDT, 6:00 am PDT)
To:
Friday, December 2, 2016 2:00 pm EST (1:00 pm CST, 12:00 pm MST, 11:00 am PST)
Duration: 46 Days, 6 Hours

Location:

Gallery 221
4001 W. Tampa Bay Blvd. 2nd floor library, Learning Resources Center, Dale Mabry Campus
Tampa, FL, 33614
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

Gallery 221 at the Hillsborough Community College Dale Mabry Campus is pleased to announce its upcoming exhibition, Akiko Kotani: Soft Walls, exhibiting from October 17 through December 2, 2016. An exhibition reception and talk are planned for Wednesday, October 19, from 5 to 7 p.m.

Utilizing women’s work as a metaphor for what can be deemed inconsequential, Kotani creates large-scale, site-specific installations that juxtapose the insignificant with the monumental. Taking more than two years to complete, Soft Walls was first exhibited in 2013 as Kotani’s Pittsburgh Artist of the Year exhibition at the Pittsburgh Center for the Arts. It has since been exhibited at Women and Their Work, Austin, Texas, and Living Arts, Tulsa, Oklahoma, where it was one of three artworks out of fifteen chosen for a national residency award.

In a new iteration at Gallery 221, the 800 square feet of crocheted plastic will encase the gallery’s walls and puddle to the floor, engulfing the space and transforming it into a pure white space. Kotani stated, “I’m delight in transforming everyday materials with cunning use of scale, a minimalist palette, and my handmade technique. I am attracted to the refinement of simple techniques that direct my work toward an economy of means, which generates a concentrated power within the work.”

Kotani received an MFA from Tyler School of Art, Elkins Park, PA, a BFA from the University of Hawaii, Honolulu, HI, and is Professor Emerita at Slippery Rock University, Slippery Rock, PA. She has exhibited her work extensively in solo and group exhibitions throughout the world.

Her artwork can be found in the collections of Citta di Chieri, Torino, Italy; Moulin à Nef at VCCA-France, Auvillar, France; Pittsburgh International Airport, Pittsburgh, PA; Bank of Hawaii, Honolulu, HI; and the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, NY, amongst others.

The artist divides her time between Slippery Rock, PA and Gulfport, FL.

All programs are free and open to the public.

Gallery 221 Information:
Location: 2nd floor library, Learning Resources Center, Dale Mabry Campus, 4001 W. Tampa Bay Blvd., Tampa 33614
Gallery Hours: Monday – Wednesday 9a.m. – 4p.m.; Thursday 9a.m – 7p.m; Friday 9a.m. - 2 p.m. ADDITIONAL HOURS FOR THIS EXHIBITION ARE AVAILABLE BY APPOINTMENT
Media Contact: Patricia Sriram| psriram@hccfl.edu | 813-253-7386
Website: www.hccfl.edu/gallery221

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm