Fall Dance Concert

Category:

From:
Thursday, November 19, 2015 7:30 pm EST (6:30 pm CST, 5:30 pm MST, 4:30 pm PST)
To:
Saturday, November 21, 2015 7:30 pm EST (6:30 pm CST, 5:30 pm MST, 4:30 pm PST)
Duration: 2 Days

Location:

HCC Mainstage Theatre
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

Hillsborough Community College’s dance program and the School of Visual and Performing Arts presents the annual Fall Dance Concert on November 19TH – 21ST at 7:30 p.m. in the Mainstage Theatre at the Ybor City Campus. 
 
The HCC Dance Ensemble will perform works by faculty and guest choreographers.  Faculty choreographed pieces include:

  • Recalculating, a new fun solo work choreographed by Christina Acosta which explores the humor in the world’s reliance of using GPS to get us from place to place. 
  • Beth LaBaren-Root’s work commemorates the 40 year anniversary of the SS Edmund Fitzgerald sinking on Lake Superior on November 10, 1975.
  • Kaempfertina, new modern jazz piece featuring a live trumpet quartet provided by Fanfare Winds


Guest choreographed pieces include:

  • A new piece by Sheila Gibson.
  • Marion Baldeon, HCC Alumnae and professional dancer will perform a new solo work called Cryptid which draws from animalistic nuances that asks the audience to question the differences between real and imagined creatures.  

 
The Mainstage Theatre is in the performing arts building of the Ybor City Campus. It is located at the corner of E Palm Ave and N 14th Street (Avenida Republica de Cuba).  All performances are at 7:30 p.m. General admission is $10.00. All HCC students, faculty and staff are admitted free of charge with valid ID.  The box office opens a half hour prior to the performance.
 
Hillsborough Community College serves more than 45,000 students annually on campuses on Dale Mabry Highway in Tampa and in Brandon, Plant City, Ruskin and Ybor City. Hillsborough Community College is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. For more information, please visit hccfl.edu.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm