Dancer, Artist and Activist Davalois Fearon asks you to “Consider Water”

Category:

From:
Friday, October 30, 2015 7:30 pm EDT (6:30 pm CDT, 5:30 pm MDT, 4:30 pm PDT)
To:
Friday, October 30, 2015 7:30 pm EDT (6:30 pm CDT, 5:30 pm MDT, 4:30 pm PDT)

Location:

HCC Mainstage Theatre
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

Hillsborough Community College’s Visual and Performing Arts Series presents “Consider Water” performed by Davalois Fearon (NYC) on October 30th & 31st at the HCC Mainstage Theatre at 7:30 p.m.
 
Davalois Fearon, dancer with Stephen Petronio Company (NYC), choreographs and dances in “Consider Water.” The work uses dynamic fluid physicality, original music and visual art to bring attention to urgent issues surrounding water from global access to clean drinking water, to major water related disasters in the U.S., to vast pollution of rivers and lakes – issues affecting worldwide communities including the Bronx, California, Jamaica, India and the Philippines.
 
While 800 million people around the world do not have access to clean water; and with water-related natural disasters, such as Hurricane Sandy, accounting for 90% of the disasters that affect humans, this issue is one of the most important of our time. Fearon points out, “Even here in the United States, 40% of the rivers and 46% of the lakes are polluted and are considered unhealthy for swimming, fishing or aquatic life.”
 
ABOUT THE ARTIST
Davalois Fearon is a dancer, teacher and choreographer born in Jamaica and raised in The Bronx, NY. In 2005, Fearon received a BFA from the Purchase College Conservatory of Dance program and has since performed and taught around the world with Stephen Petronio Company, staged its repertory, assisted as rehearsal director, and is currently its Education Coordinator. As a choreographer, she is a recipient of the 2014 Bronx Council on the Arts BRIO fellowship and a member of The Joyce Theater’s Prestigious Young Leaders Circle Artists’ Committee. Her choreography has been presented throughout New York City and other domestic and international cities.
 
All HCC students, faculty and staff are admitted free of charge with valid ID.  $10 General Admission.

Tickets available at the door. The box office opens an hour prior to the performance.
 
The Mainstage Theatre is in the performing arts building of the Ybor City Campus. It is located at the corner of E Palm Ave and N 14th Street (Avenida Republica de Cuba).

To find out more about ‘Consider Water’ and the work of Davalois Fearon, or to get involved, visit her website at www.davaloisfearon.com.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm