Dale Mabry Campus Announces 2015-16 Guitar Series Concert Schedule

Category:

From:
Friday, November 13, 2015 8:00 pm EST (7:00 pm CST, 6:00 pm MST, 5:00 pm PST)
To:
Friday, March 4, 2016 8:00 pm EST (7:00 pm CST, 6:00 pm MST, 5:00 pm PST)
Duration: 112 Days

Location:

HCC Dale Mabry Campus Student Services Auditorium
4001 W. Tampa Bay Blvd.
Tampa, FL, 33614
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

The Guitar Series returns to the Dale Mabry Campus for the 2015-16 concert season.  The events are free to students and faculty and $10 for the public to attend.  Each of the concerts will be held in the Student Services Building Auditorium at 8:00 p.m.

2015-16 Concert Schedule:                                     

November 13, 2015 - Jorge Caballero
**This concert will be held at the Brandon Campus Auditorium in the Student Services Building.

The only guitarist to have won the Naumburg International Competition Award, comparable to the Pulitzer Prize for musicians.  Caballero is known for making impossible pieces seem easy to play on the guitar. Allan Kozzinn of the New York Times called him a “superb young guitarist” and praised his rare combination of “a deft, powerful technique and a soft-spoken interpretive persona.”

January 22, 2016 - Benjamin Pila
Pila has been featured on the Today Show on NBC as well as NPR’s From the Top.  He was awarded ASCAP’s Best Performance of a Contemporary Work, has won prizes in the Texas International Competition, the Yamaha 6-String Theory Guitar Competition, and is a Young Arts Silver Award Winner.  Pila recently performed before Pope Francis during the pontiff’s visit to New York City at the National September 11 Memorial & Museum.  He will play a concert of classic and popular music.

February 12, 2016 - Ekachai Jearakul
Ekachai Jearakul is one of today’s most outstanding guitarists.  In 2014, he became the first Asian guitarist to win the prestigious Guitar Foundation of America International Concert Artist Competition.  He will be playing an eclectic program of music including Legnani, Turina, Brouwer, Barrios Mangore, Mertz, and His Majesty, The King of Thailand, King Bhumibol Adulyadej. 

March 4, 2016 - Texas Guitar Quartet
They bring unique passions and talents to an ensemble dedicated to presenting chamber music of the highest quality.  The quartet has developed and exciting repertoire by commissioning new works, creating their own compositions and arrangements such as Beethoven’s Egmont Overture, pushing the boundaries of the guitar quartet medium. 

The Guitar Series is sponsored by the Dale Mabry Campus Student Government Association. 

The Dale Mabry Campus is located at  4001 W. Tampa Bay Blvd., Tampa, FL 33614-7820.

Hillsborough Community College serves over 45,000 students annually at its five campuses located throughout Tampa Bay.  The college is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm