Aztec Economy at HCC Ybor City Campus Theatre

Category:

From:
Thursday, October 22, 2015 7:30 pm EDT (6:30 pm CDT, 5:30 pm MDT, 4:30 pm PDT)
To:
Saturday, October 24, 2015 7:30 pm EDT (6:30 pm CDT, 5:30 pm MDT, 4:30 pm PDT)
Duration: 2 Days

Location:

Ybor City Campus Studio Theatre
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

Hillsborough Community College’s theatre program presents Aztec Economy’s BUTCHER HOLLER HERE WE COME on October 22 -24 at 7:30 p.m. in the Ybor City Campus Studio Theatre. 

BUTCHER HOLLER HERE WE COME. 1973, West Virginia. Following a cave collapse, 5 coal miners struggle to survive the dwindling supply of oxygen, the lack of food and water, the unravelling sense of passing time, and, even more threatening, their own competing natures. Brutally weaving through family histories, complicated friendships, crooked politics, childhood visions, audacious hopes, eerie dreams, criminal addictions, and fervent spirituality in this run-of-the-mill Appalachian community, Butcher Holler Here We Come is a descent into the male psyche-in-crisis where secret desires, carnal urges, and hidden memories come boiling to the surface in a primitive territory of Earth that mirrors the subliminal mind.

Admission: $10 General Admission, $5 for non HCC students, seniors and military, free for HCC students, faculty and staff. 

Location: Hillsborough Community College, Ybor Campus, Ybor Performing Arts Building, Corner of E. Palm and N. 14th St. 

“It is a great inspiration to learn that theater is still alive in this country….exciting work that is food for the senses and the spirit” -Baltimore Examiner 
 
The result fuses the creeping horror of The Shining with the tension of Mamet’s American Buffalo” – TheaterJones
 
“Shattering…[It] played like a combination nightmare, mystery rite, and horror ride at a depraved theme park.. The acting is terrific: elemental, raw, and persuasively aggressive. Leah Bonvissuto’s direction could hardly be more menacinge. Casey Wimpee’s script is, finally, awe-inspiring. The consistency of a shocking dream and authority of brutal poetry”  -CreativeLoafing, Tampa
 
 “An intense, funny, scary, dark experience… five excellent actors with an engrossing, serious script that keeps you on the edge of your seat… See the show, and be prepared to leave a piece of your soul in the dark space.” -CityBeat, Cincinnati
 
“An intense drama….the acting is excellent….very compelling” -New Orleans Defender
 
Butcher Holler Here We Come Creative Team is: Text: Casey Wimpee | Direction: Leah Bonvissuto | Featuring: Adam Belvo, Isaac Byrne, Michael Mason, Adam Laten Willson, & Cole Wimpee | Sound Design: Ryan Dorin | Graphics & Imaging: Kalli Newman | Photography: Yvonne Allaway | Additional Photography: Pete Churton & Scott Eslinger | Original Cast: Jared Culverhouse | Understudies: Colt Keeney, Harlan Short
 
AZTEC ECONOMY  is a Brooklyn-based non-profit arts collective initiated in Spring 2008 to present new live performances for the public. Our work seeks to provide a fresh perspective on American culture and its relationship to ritual, mythology, madness, dreams, and deliverance.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm