AQUIFERious on Display at the HCC Ybor City Campus Gallery

Category:

From:
Thursday, February 4, 2016 4:30 pm EST (3:30 pm CST, 2:30 pm MST, 1:30 pm PST)
To:
Friday, February 26, 2016 4:00 pm EST (3:00 pm CST, 2:00 pm MST, 1:00 pm PST)
Duration: 21 Days, 23 Hours, 30 Minutes

Location:

HCC Ybor City Art Gallery
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

The Hillsborough Community College Ybor City School of Visual and Performing Arts Gallery presents AQUIFERious, an exhibition of paintings, photographs and maps emphasizing the urgent need for the preservation of Florida’s freshwater springs and the Floridan aquifer.  The exhibition will run from February 4th – 26th.
 
Margaret Ross Tolbert’s large, brilliant oil paintings of the North Florida Springs are featured in this exhibition. Other contributing Florida artists, photographers, and filmmakers include Jill Heinerth, Mark Long, Tom Morris, and springs maps by Eric Hutcheson and Georgia Shemitz. Two-thirds of the world’s first magnitude springs are located in Florida. Spring flows and aquifer levels are falling and water pollution is increasing. Over the past 25 years these artists have worked to document some of the spring’s unique features.  In 2010, the book AQUIFERious was released, with art and writings by Tolbert and several other contributors.
 
An artist reception will take place on Thursday, February 4th from 4:30 - 7:15 p.m. with an artist talk beginning at 6:15 p.m. Video shorts of the springs by Florida filmmakers with a panel Q&A lead by Chris Meindl, PhD, University of South Florida Department of Environmental Science, Policy and Geography, will be shown in the Mainstage Theatre at 7:30 p.m. Events are free and open to the public.
 
The HCC Ybor City Gallery is located in the Performing Arts Building, first floor, Palm Avenue and 15th Street. Regular hours are Monday, Wednesday and Friday 10 a.m. –    4 p.m. & Tuesday noon to 7 p.m. For more information, please contact Carolyn Kossar at 813-253-7674 or ckossar@hccfl.edu.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm