Hillsborough Community College Hosts Courageous Conversations Speaker Series: Disparities in Health Care

Category:

From:
Wednesday, October 14, 2015 11:30 am EDT (10:30 am CDT, 9:30 am MDT, 8:30 am PDT)
To:
Wednesday, October 14, 2015 1:30 pm EDT (12:30 pm CDT, 11:30 am MDT, 10:30 am PDT)
Duration: 2 Hours

Location:

Dale Mabry Campus Technology Bldg – Health Sciences Auditorium
United States
See map: Google Maps

Speaker(s):

Professor Maria Bautista-Smith – Hillsborough Community College, Nursing Faculty
Professor Lewis Craven – Hillsborough Community College, Human Services Faculty, specializing in aging population
Dr. Adewale Troutman  - University of South Florida, Associate Dean for Health Equity & Community Engagement
Dr. Marvin Ted Williams – Retired Associate Dean, College of Medicine, Molecular Medicine, University of South Florida

Description:

Hillsborough Community College’s Office of Diversity and Equity will hold its Courageous Conversations Speaker Series on October 7th and 14th. Courageous Conversations is a collaborative speaker series that examines current events and policies in our nation that directly impact our community.

October 14 Event Details:
Courageous Conversations:  Disparities in Health Care
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Dale Mabry Campus Technology Building – Health Sciences Auditorium
The session is from 11:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m.
 
This event will examine the disparities in healthcare. Health inequities are avoidable, unfair differences in health status and are determined by the conditions in which persons are born, grow, live, work, and age. Join us as we seek to identify these differences and the appropriate steps that we can take to reduce health disparities in
the Tampa Bay community.
 
Panelist
Professor Maria Bautista-Smith – Hillsborough Community College, Nursing Faculty
Professor Lewis Craven – Hillsborough Community College, Human Services Faculty, specializing in aging population
Dr. Adewale Troutman  - University of South Florida, Associate Dean for Health Equity & Community Engagement
Dr. Marvin Ted Williams – Retired Associate Dean, College of Medicine, Molecular Medicine, University of South Florida
 
Hillsborough Community College serves more than 46,000 students annually on five campuses and three centers throughout Hillsborough County.  HCC is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm