Hillsborough Community College Hosts Courageous Conversations Speaker Series: School to Prison Pipeline

Category:

From:
Wednesday, October 7, 2015 11:30 am EDT (10:30 am CDT, 9:30 am MDT, 8:30 am PDT)
To:
Wednesday, October 7, 2015 1:30 pm EDT (12:30 pm CDT, 11:30 am MDT, 10:30 am PDT)
Duration: 2 Hours

Location:

HCC Brandon Campus, Student Services Building Auditorium
United States
See map: Google Maps

Speaker(s):

Dr. Lewis Brinson - Chief Diversity Officer, Hillsborough County Public Schools
Sheriff David Gee- Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office
Dr. Brenda Walker - Professor, Department of Special Education, University of South    Florida, and Director of the CAROUSEL Center
Dr. Joyce Hamilton-Henry - Director of Advocacy at ACLU of Florida
Mr. William C. Daniels – Public Affairs Specialist, U.S. Department of Justice, United States Attorneys Office

Description:

Hillsborough Community College’s Office of Diversity and Equity will hold its Courageous Conversations Speaker Series on October 7th and 14th. Courageous Conversations is a collaborative speaker series that examines current events and policies in our nation that directly impact our community.

October 7 Event Details:
Courageous Conversations: School to Prison Pipeline
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Brandon Campus Student Services Building – Auditorium
The session is from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
 
This event will examine the school to prison pipeline, an epidemic that is plaguing schools across the nation. This pipeline reflects the prioritization of incarceration over education. Join us as we discuss concerns, trends and possible solutions for this epidemic in the Tampa Bay community.
 
Panelist
Dr. Lewis Brinson - Chief Diversity Officer, Hillsborough County Public Schools
Sheriff David Gee- Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office
Dr. Brenda Walker - Professor, Department of Special Education, University of South    Florida, and Director of the CAROUSEL Center
Dr. Joyce Hamilton-Henry - Director of Advocacy at ACLU of Florida
Mr. William C. Daniels – Public Affairs Specialist, U.S. Department of Justice, United States Attorneys Office
 
Hillsborough Community College serves more than 46,000 students annually on five campuses and three centers throughout Hillsborough County.  HCC is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm