Hillsborough Community College Hosts Courageous Conversations Speaker Series

Category:

From:
Wednesday, January 27, 2016 11:45 am EST (10:45 am CST, 9:45 am MST, 8:45 am PST)
To:
Wednesday, January 27, 2016 1:30 pm EST (12:30 pm CST, 11:30 am MST, 10:30 am PST)
Duration: 1 Hour, 45 Minutes

Location:

SouthShore Campus Pavilion
United States
See map: Google Maps

Speaker(s):

Panelists:
Dr. Joyce Hamilton Henry – Director of Advocacy at ACLU of Florida
Dr. Roy Kaplan – Past Executive Director of the National Conference of Christians and  Jews for Tampa Bay
Attorney Rinky Parwani – Managing Attorney, Parwani Law, P.A.
Mr. Adrian Sarmiento – Student Success Coach, Shields Middle School & Resource Teacher, Lennard Adult and Community School
 
Moderator:
Marilyn Carrasquillo – Professor of Computer Science, Hillsborough Community College

Description:

Hillsborough Community College’s Office of Diversity and Equity will hold its Courageous Conversations Speaker Series on Wednesday, January 27th. Courageous Conversations is a collaborative speaker series that examines current events and policies in our nation that directly impact our community.

January 27 Event Details:
Courageous Conversations: Immigration Awareness
Wednesday, January, 27, 2016
SouthShore Campus Pavilion
11:45 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
 
This event will examine immigration. Undocumented students continue to face challenges regarding their future. The American Immigration Council reports that “in the past decade 65,000 undocumented students graduated from American high schools annually” and are hindered in their ability to pursue higher education and/or other opportunities. This has resulted in serious social and economic disparities. The panelists of leaders in the community will present varied perspectives on immigration policies and their impact on undocumented students. This is a unique opportunity to gain knowledge of the personal and emotional challenges these students face.
 
Panelists:
Dr. Joyce Hamilton Henry – Director of Advocacy at ACLU of Florida
Dr. Roy Kaplan – Past Executive Director of the National Conference of Christians and  Jews for Tampa Bay
Attorney Rinky Parwani – Managing Attorney, Parwani Law, P.A.
Mr. Adrian Sarmiento – Student Success Coach, Shields Middle School & Resource Teacher, Lennard Adult and Community School
 
Moderator:
Marilyn Carrasquillo – Professor of Computer Science, Hillsborough Community College

Hillsborough Community College serves more than 46,000 students annually on five campuses and three centers throughout Hillsborough County.  HCC is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm