Hillsborough Community College Hosts Courageous Conversation Speaker Series

Category:

From:
Wednesday, September 21, 2016 11:00 am EDT (10:00 am CDT, 9:00 am MDT, 8:00 am PDT)
To:
Wednesday, September 21, 2016 12:15 pm EDT (11:15 am CDT, 10:15 am MDT, 9:15 am PDT)
Duration: 1 Hour, 15 Minutes

Location:

HCC Plant City Campus, Trinkle Building
1206 N. Park Road
Plant City, FL, 33563
United States
See map: Google Maps

Description:

Hillsborough Community College’s Office of Diversity and Equity will hold its Courageous Conversations Speaker Series on Wednesday, September 21, 2016. Courageous Conversations is a collaborative speaker series that examines current events and policies in our nation that directly impact our community.
 
September 21 Event Details:
Immigration: Who’s In and Who’s Out
Wednesday, September 21, 2016 | 11:00 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.
HCC Plant City Campus, Trinkle Building, 1206 N. Park Road, Plant City, FL 33563
 
This event will examine immigration. Questions will be posed to stimulate candid and respectful conversation among the students, faculty and staff in attendance. The ten- to fifteen-minute conversations per topic will be moderated and may include border security, legal status of immigrants, amnesty, deportation and accessibility of certain rights to undocumented residents of the United States. The anticipated outcome is a better understanding of immigration issues and practice in having respectful conversations around controversial topics.
 
Moderator:
Dr. Roy Kaplan, Consultant to HCC Diversity Council, USF Adjunct Professor, and Past Executive Director of the National Conference of Christians and Jews for Tampa Bay.
 
Sponsored by the college wide HCC Diversity Council.
 
Hillsborough Community College serves more than 46,000 students annually on five campuses and three centers throughout Hillsborough County.  HCC is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm