Hillsborough Community College Hosts Courageous Conversation Speaker Series: Unequal Access to Mental Health Services

Category:

From:
Thursday, October 20, 2016 11:00 am EDT (10:00 am CDT, 9:00 am MDT, 8:00 am PDT)
To:
Thursday, October 20, 2016 1:00 pm EDT (12:00 pm CDT, 11:00 am MDT, 10:00 am PDT)
Duration: 2 Hours

Location:

HCC Dale Mabry Campus, Student Services Building, Auditorium
4001 W. Tampa Bay Blvd.
Tampa, FL, 33614
United States
See map: Google Maps

Speaker(s):

Panelists:
Sonya Bufe - Clinical Director, Phoenix House Florida Outpatient Services
Gwendolyn Green – Clinical Director, Tampa Crossroads
Anthea Henderson - Adjunct Instructor, Counseling and Human Services Program, Hillsborough Community College
Major Scott Wellinger - Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office
 
Moderator:
Dr. Roy Kaplan, Consultant to HCC Diversity Council, USF Adjunct Professor, and Past Executive Director of the National Conference of Christians and Jews for Tampa Bay.

Description:

Hillsborough Community College’s Office of Diversity and Equity will hold its Courageous Conversations Speaker Series on Thursday, October 20, 2016. Courageous Conversations is a collaborative speaker series that examines current events and policies in our nation that directly impact our community. This month we will be examining unequal access to mental health services.   

October 20 Event Details:
Unequal Access to Mental Health Services
Thursday, October 20, 2016 | 11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
HCC Dale Mabry Campus, Student Services Building, Auditorium
4001 W. Tampa Bay Blvd., Tampa, FL 33614
 
Panelists:
Sonya Bufe - Clinical Director, Phoenix House Florida Outpatient Services
Gwendolyn Green – Clinical Director, Tampa Crossroads
Anthea Henderson - Adjunct Instructor, Counseling and Human Services Program, Hillsborough Community College
Major Scott Wellinger - Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office
 
Moderator:
Dr. Roy Kaplan, Consultant to HCC Diversity Council, USF Adjunct Professor, and Past Executive Director of the National Conference of Christians and Jews for Tampa Bay.
 
Sponsored by the college wide HCC Diversity Council.
 
Hillsborough Community College serves more than 46,000 students annually on five campuses and three centers throughout Hillsborough County.  HCC is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm