Hillsborough Community College Annual Veterans Entrepreneurship Training Symposium

Category:

From:
Saturday, November 14, 2015 10:00 am EST (9:00 am CST, 8:00 am MST, 7:00 am PST)
To:
Saturday, November 14, 2015 4:00 pm EST (3:00 pm CST, 2:00 pm MST, 1:00 pm PST)
Duration: 6 Hours

Location:

HCC Plant City Campus
United States
See map: Google Maps

Speaker(s):

Valerie Ellis: Veterans2Corporate Co-Founder/CEO, HCC entrepreneurship student
Clint Day: State College of Florida Entrepreneur-in-Residence
Mark Sharpe: Director Tampa Innovation Alliance, former Hillsborough County Commissioner

Description:

Hillsborough Community College (HCC) will hold the Third Annual Veterans Entrepreneurship Training Symposium at the Plant City Campus on Saturday,   November 14 from 10 a.m. – 4 p.m. The symposium is free and open to the public.

Active or retired military as well as military family members that have an interest in starting a business are encouraged to attend. The symposium will include keynote speakers, breakout sessions, an entrepreneurial ecosystem panel session and a business pitch competition. Topics include: business formation, social media and marketing, franchising, crowdfunding and more.

Keynote speakers include:
Valerie Ellis: Veterans2Corporate Co-Founder/CEO, HCC entrepreneurship student
Clint Day: State College of Florida Entrepreneur-in-Residence
Mark Sharpe: Director Tampa Innovation Alliance, former Hillsborough County Commissioner

Participants will have the opportunity to pitch their business idea to a group of judges to win $6,000 in prizes. Competitors in the business pitch competition will be preselected from the top-ranked submissions received. The proposals will be evaluated based upon their uniqueness, feasibility and the ability to impact people and society.

The event is sponsored by Suncoast Credit Union Foundation, TECO Energy, Hillsborough County and Economic Development Innovation Initiative.  To register, please visit ow.ly/U08JR.

Hillsborough Community College serves more than 45,000 students annually at campuses on Dale Mabry Highway in Tampa and in Brandon, Plant City, Ruskin and Ybor City. Hillsborough Community College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges. For more information, please visit hccfl.edu.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm