HCC SouthShore Collegiate 100 recognizes October as Domestic Violence Awareness Month

Category:

From:
Wednesday, October 19, 2016 11:00 am EDT (10:00 am CDT, 9:00 am MDT, 8:00 am PDT)
To:
Wednesday, October 19, 2016 12:30 pm EDT (11:30 am CDT, 10:30 am MDT, 9:30 am PDT)
Duration: 1 Hour, 30 Minutes

Location:

HCC SouthShore
551 24th St NE Room: SMPF 201/202
Ruskin, FL, 33570
United States
See map: Google Maps

Speaker(s):

Melissa Dohme, Outreach Coordinator and Violence Prevention Advocate for Hands Across the Bay

Mikki Petit-Frere, Health and Wellness Champion for The Spring of Tampa Bay

Description:

The Hillsborough Community College (HCC) SouthShore chapter of Collegiate 100 is proud to recognize October as Domestic Violence Awareness Month. On Wednesday, October 19th from 11:00am- 12:30pm, the college will feature speakers Melissa Dohme of Hands Across the Bay and Mikki Petite-Frere of The Spring of Tampa Bay. The women will share stories of survival and resources to help raise awareness to prevent domestic violence.
 
According to the National Coalition Against Domestic Violence, “On average, nearly 20 people per minute are physically abused by an intimate partner in the United States.” Collegiate 100 hopes by attending the event, the community understands more about the experience of those who are in a domestic violence situation and gain resources into how and where they can get help in the Tampa Bay area.
 
About the speakers
Melissa Dohme is the Outreach Coordinator and Violence Prevention Advocate for Hands Across the Bay. In January of 2012, Melissa’s high school ex-boyfriend brutally stabbed her 32 times in the neck, face, arms, and hands in an attempt to take her life. Melissa flat-lined four times and suffered a stroke from a massive amount of blood loss as she fought to survive. Melissa has been featured in national and international magazines and appeared on national televisions shows including 48 HOURS: Live to Tell, Inside Edition, GMA, and many more.
 
Mikki Petit-Frere is the Health and Wellness Champion for The Spring of Tampa Bay, a nonprofit organization founded in 1977. Mikki educates survivors and connects them to healthcare while also training medical professionals on domestic violence. Ms. Petit-Frere has worked in social service, and the nonprofit sector, for over 10 years. She received a bachelor’s degree from the University of South Florida and is currently working towards a degree in public health. The mission of The Spring of Tampa Bay is to prevent domestic violence, protect victims and promote change in lives, families, and communities.
 
Date/Time: October 19, 2016 | 11:00am – 12:30pm
Location: HCC SouthShore, 551 24th St NE, Ruskin, FL 33570    Room: SMPF 201/202
 
Hillsborough Community College serves more than 44,000 students annually at five campuses and three centers throughout Hillsborough County. HCC is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm