HCC Fifth Annual HOPE Scholars Summit to Empower Minority Males

Category:

From:
Friday, March 4, 2016 8:30 am EST (7:30 am CST, 6:30 am MST, 5:30 am PST)
To:
Friday, March 4, 2016 2:00 pm EST (1:00 pm CST, 12:00 pm MST, 11:00 am PST)
Duration: 5 Hours, 30 Minutes

Location:

HCC Dale Mabry Campus Student Services Auditorium
4001 W. Tampa Bay Blvd.
Tampa, FL, 33614
United States
See map: Google Maps

Speaker(s):

Michael Benitez, Chief Diversity Author and Dean of Diversity and inclusion at the University of Puget Sound

Dr. Calvin Mackie, critically acclaimed author of “View from the Roof”

Description:

Hillsborough Community College (HCC) will host the fifth annual HOPE Scholars Summit on Friday, March 4, from 8:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. at the Dale Mabry Campus. The HOPE Scholars Program is a targeted program designed to improve retention, graduation and the four-year college transfer rate of African American and Latino males.

College enrollment and completion rates of minority men continue to be a challenge on both the national and local level. In an effort to help, HCC’s Office of Equity, Diversity and Special Programs in collaboration with the HCC Office of Student Services and Hillsborough County Public Schools are sponsoring this summit to encourage more minority men to achieve higher goals in higher education. Last year, more than 400 students from HCC and more than a dozen area high schools attended the summit.

During this year’s summit, students will hear guest speaker Michael Benitez, the Chief Diversity Author and Dean of Diversity and inclusion at the University of Puget Sound. Michael Benitez is nationally regarded for his commentary and critical perspectives on social and cultural issues. The event will also feature Dr. Calvin Mackie, the critically acclaimed author of “View from the Roof.” Dr. Mackie is a mentor and entrepreneur whose message challenges traditional thinking on issues of race, gender, ethnicity, religion and political affiliation.
 
The summit takes place at the HCC Dale Mabry Campus Student Services Auditorium located at 4001 W. Tampa Bay Blvd, Tampa, FL 33614. The event runs from 8:30 a.m. until 2:00 p.m. and is open to all HCC students, including African American and Latino males from Hillsborough County Public High Schools. Lunch will be provided.
 
HOPE Scholar is administered under the auspices of the Equity, Diversity and Special Programs office. The Office of Equity and Special Programs is led by Dr. Joan Holmes, Special Assistant to the President for Equity and Special Programs along with Ms. Barbara Cockfield, Program Manager, Diversity and Special Programs, Ms. Elina Bivins, Program Manager for Equity & Diversity, Ms. Nela Ebanks, Executive Assistant.  

For more information please contact Barbara Cockfield by phone at 813-253-7153 or email at bcockfield@hccfl.edu.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm