General Colin L. Powell, USA (Ret.) Headlining Hillsborough Community College National Summit for Minority Males in Higher Education

Category:

From:
Thursday, February 18, 2016 2:00 pm EST (1:00 pm CST, 12:00 pm MST, 11:00 am PST)
To:
Sunday, February 21, 2016 12:00 pm EST (11:00 am CST, 10:00 am MST, 9:00 am PST)
Duration: 2 Days, 22 Hours

Location:

Tampa Hilton Downtown
Tampa, FL
United States
See map: Google Maps

Speaker(s):

General Colin L. Powell, USA (Ret.), keynote

Jose Antonio Vargas, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and filmmaker

Hill Harper, award-winning actor, best-selling author and philanthropist

Dr. Damon Williams, Senior Vice President for Program, Training, and Youth Development Services for Boys & Girls Clubs of America

Dr. Luis Ponjuan, Texas A&M University Associate Professor

Derrick Brooks, 1995 Tampa Bay Buccaneers first round NFL draft pick

Ed "Too Tall" Jones, 1974 first overall draft pick of the Dallas Cowboys

Description:

African American and Latino males remain historically underrepresented throughout higher education, and their persistence and retention rates are significantly lower than other student populations.  Organized and founded by Hillsborough Community College, the tenth annual Black, Brown and College Bound Summit (BBCB) will be held on February 18th – 21st  at the Downtown Hilton. General Colin L. Powell, USA (Ret.) will keynote this year’s milestone summit.

“We strive to provide the necessary support and resources to help these young men graduate and become active members of their respective communities,” said Dr. Ken Atwater, President of HCC. “The summit provides a platform where attendees can make lasting connections with successful minority males in their respective industries, making way for a powerful experience displaying that they, too, can reach a pinnacle of success.”

The summit brings together national experts, educational leaders, practitioners and students to discuss the programs and strategies that have proven effective in increasing the academic achievement of underrepresented males in higher education as well as the unique issues facing this population. General Colin L. Powell, USA (Ret.) will serve as this year's keynote at BBCB's Dr. Sylvia Marion Carley Luncheon on Friday, February 19th. For over fifty years, General Colin L. Powell, USA (Ret.) has devoted his life to public service. Having held senior military and diplomatic positions across four presidential administrations, Powell’s deep commitment to democratic values and freedom has been felt throughout the world.

From 1987 – 1989 Powell served as President Ronald Reagan’s National Security Advisor. He served from 1989 – 1993 as Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff for both President
George H.W. Bush and for President Bill Clinton, and was not only the youngest officer and first ROTC graduate to ever serve in the position but also was the first African American to do so.

The theme of this year’s summit is A Decade of Advocacy & Solutions for Black & Latino Males in Higher Education. Additional Speakers include: Jose Antonio Vargas, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and filmmaker;  Hill Harper, award-winning actor, best-selling author and philanthropist; Dr. Damon Williams, Senior Vice President for Program, Training, and Youth Development Services for Boys & Girls Clubs of America; Dr. Luis Ponjuan, Texas A&M University Associate Professor; Derrick Brooks, 1995 Tampa Bay Buccaneers first round NFL draft pick and Ed "Too Tall" Jones, 1974 first overall draft pick of the Dallas Cowboys.

Full conference details including registration information can be found at hccfl.edu/bbcb.

Hillsborough Community College serves more than 45,000 students annually on campuses on Dale Mabry Highway in Tampa and in Plant City, Ybor City, Brandon, and Ruskin.  Hillsborough Community College is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

Media Contacts

Ashley Carl, Executive Director of Marketing & Public Relations
acarl@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7158

Angela Walters, Strategic Communications Officer
awalters13@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6589

Chris DeManche, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
cdemanche@hccfl.edu
, 813.259.6567

Ashley Jeffery, Community Relations & Marketing Manager
ajeffery4@hccfl.edu, 813.259.6591

Debbi Ordaz, Public Relations Specialist
dordaz@hccfl.edu, 813.253.7066   

Business Wire NewsHQsm