Collegiate 100 Receives National Chapter of the Year Award

Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF Convert to RTF Related Assets
22 May 2013
HCC Collegiate 100 Receives Chapter of the Year Award

HCC Collegiate 100 Receives Chapter of the Year Award

Hillsborough Community College Collegiate 100 received the 2013 Collegiate 100 Chapter of the Year of 100 Black Men of America, Incaward. The chapter was recognized at the annual international conference in New Orleans on June 6th. HCC’s chapter was the only community college recognized during the conference. 
Collegiate 100—an auxiliary organization of the 100 Black Men of America, Inc.—is open to all male and female HCC students who are in good academic standing and have a passion for mentoring local elementary students and serving their communities. Collegiate 100 students grow and develop interpersonal and networking skills by actively participating in activities and events throughout the program year.
Students also engage in community service projects and events focused on topics such as financial aid, transferring to a four-year college or university, money management, politics, drug and substance abuse prevention, presentation skills, goal-setting and leadership development.
Selection based on a thorough review of program offerings and activities consistent with Collegiate 100’s four core initiatives, Four for the Future.  HCC was the only community college to win this prestigious award from a field of international applicants including four-year institutions.
HCC’s Collegiate 100 is administered under the Office of Equity and Special Programs office in partnership with 100 Black Men of Tampa Bay.  The department is led by Dr. Joan Holmes, Special Assistant to the President for Equity and Special Programs along with Barbara Cockfield, Program Manager, Equity and Special Programs and Patrick Sneed, Coordinator of Programs.  The advisors for Collegiate 100 are Warren Smith, Ralph Waithe, Lorenzo Carswell, Sheila McCants and Charlene Bell.  100 Black Men of Tampa Bay is led by president Sean Dickerson, Michael Dove, Vice President of Program and Morris Pyle, Mentoring Chairman.
< back

  • Forgot Password
  • Register
  • Search:

    Advanced Search
  • Tag Cloud:

    Dale Mabry Campus Guitar Series hcc
  • Archive:

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.